Reset Chrome Settings to Default

Reset Chrome settings to default

You can restore your browser settings in Chrome at any time. You might need to do this if apps or extensions you installed changed your settings without your knowledge or if you are experiencing any odd behavior from your Chrome Browser. Your saved bookmarks and passwords won’t be cleared or changed.

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click on the icon and then select Settings.
  3. Scroll to the bottom, click Advanced.
  4. Scroll again to find the section “Reset,” click Reset.
  5. Confirm by clicking Reset. ​

These steps won’t provide a full reset. For example, some settings like fonts or accessibility won’t be deleted.

What changes when you restore your settings

The following settings will change back to the default:

  • Default search engine, which is changed back to Google.
  • Homepage and tabs.
  • The new tab page.
  • Tabs you have pinned.
  • Content settings, like letting a site show you pop-ups or use your microphone.
  • Cookies and site data, like items in an online shopping cart.
  • Extensions and themes.

Only the settings for the Chrome profile you’re signed in to will be reset. Your new settings will apply across all computers or devices where you’re signed in to your active profile.