At the end of each school year classes created by Teacher Dashboard in Google Docs are archived.
From a student’s perspective the following happens:
- Students Subject folders are renamed to include the academic year suffix.
- Student Subject folders are removed from their My Drive folder and remain accessible through a My Archive folder, found in ‘Shared with me’.
- The My Archive folder contains a folder for each academic year, and those folders contain students’ subject folders for the corresponding years.
- Write access is changed to ‘read-only’ access for Student Subject folders. Any existing content in Student Subject folders remains as is, while any new content added to these folders inherits ‘read-only’ access.
This diagram shows what happens to student subject folders from the student perspective: